Comparison
Alternatives to Hibu, Thryv and Scorpion for small contractors
Quick answer
If you run a small contracting company and what you need is a website, the bundled marketing platforms (Hibu, Thryv, Scorpion, Townsquare Interactive) are the wrong tool: they attach the site to a 6 to 12 month marketing contract, mostly do not publish prices, and generate a steady stream of cancellation complaints. Thryv's first plan with a website is $399 a month; Thryv holds 2.5 stars on Trustpilot and Townsquare 1.7. Alternatives with public prices and no long contract start at $97 a month.
Published by Horizon Digital Co., which sells a $99 a month website subscription and is therefore not neutral. Every claim about a competitor below links to the public page it came from.
What the platforms actually sell
Hibu, Thryv, Scorpion and Townsquare Interactive are marketing companies. The website is the entry point to a bundle of ads, SEO, review management and software, sold on a contract, usually through a sales call, usually without a published price. That model can work for a company with the revenue to buy real marketing. It is a bad fit for a two-truck plumber who needs a site that makes the phone ring.
What their customers report
- Thryv: the first plan that includes a website is $399 a month plus $250 onboarding. Thryv’s Trustpilot rating is 2.5 stars across 426 reviews, with 58% one-star, and customers report there is no way to cancel online.
- Hibu: quotes only, on 12-month contracts. Hibu’s Trustpilot rating is 4.7 across 878 reviews, but 18% are one-star, and the BBB complaint themes are cancellation and “run-around”.
- Townsquare Interactive: a 1.7-star Trustpilot rating across 34 reviews, and customers report a $129 a month hosting charge that continues after cancellation.
- Scorpion: no published price (“investment varies”); 12-month terms; you own the domain and content only after the contract ends.
| Provider | Monthly | Setup | Contract | Cancellation | What you own |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Thryv | $399 | $250 | 6-month minimums reported by customers | Customers report there is no way to cancel online | Not stated |
| Hibu * | Not published | Not stated | 12 months | Complaint themes on BBB and Trustpilot centre on cancellation | Not stated |
| Scorpion | Not published | Not stated | 12-month terms for marketing technology and SEO | Not stated | You own domain and content after the contract ends |
| Townsquare Interactive * | Not published | Not stated | Multi-month lock-in reported | Billing after cancellation is a recurring complaint | Ownership disputes reported |
Prices read from each provider's public page on the date shown in the Pricing Index. An asterisk marks a price the vendor does not publish, taken from reviews or press instead. Tell us about an error at support@horizondigitalco.com and we will fix it.
Six alternatives with a public price
| Provider | Monthly | Setup | Contract | What you own | Launch time | Sales call |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zero Degree Media | $97 | $0 | None; monthly plans cancel anytime | Full Build customers own the design outright; subscription terms not stated on the page | Most sites launched in 1 to 2 weeks (5 to 7 business days for standard sites) | No |
| LeadChime | $99 | $0 | None | Not stated on the page | Same-day website preview before payment | No |
| Horizon Digital Co. | $99 | $59 | 12 months on the $99 and annual plans; none on the $169 plan | You own your domain and the text, images and logo you supply. Horizon does not export or transfer the site or its content, so keep your own copies. | Live within 72 hours of intake | No |
| CodeWays | $97 | $0 | None stated | Not stated | 48-hour build | Not stated |
| YourSites | $199 | $0 | None stated | Not stated on the page | 2 to 5 days | Not stated |
| ProCrewSites | $299 | $0 | Month to month, 30 days notice | You keep full ownership of your domain; design and code remain theirs | About 2 weeks after onboarding | Yes |
Prices read from each provider's public page on the date shown in the Pricing Index. An asterisk marks a price the vendor does not publish, taken from reviews or press instead. Tell us about an error at support@horizondigitalco.com and we will fix it.
Every provider in this second table tells you the price before you talk to anyone, and four of the six require no contract at all. Horizon’s $99 plan carries a 12-month term; our $169 plan does not. Six of the 40 providers in the full Pricing Index publish no price; four of those six are in the first table.
How to leave a platform you are already on
- Find your contract’s end date and notice period. Most require written notice 30 to 60 days before renewal.
- Confirm who registered your domain. If the platform did, ask in writing for the transfer authorization code; it is your business name.
- Save every piece of content you gave them: text, photos, logo, reviews. You own those.
- Set up the replacement site before you cancel, so you are never dark.
- Cancel in writing, keep the confirmation, and watch the next two statements.
Horizon’s own exit terms are strict and stated up front: you own your domain and your content, we do not export the site, and it goes offline immediately when you cancel. Details in Ownership and cancellation, in plain English.